A New Venture

I had a blog in middle school – Blogspot sites were all the rage, used to passive aggressively snipe at friends and see who could get the most pageviews. This experience has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Then, I came to a couple of realizations. First, creating my own blog would enable me to exercise my writing skills, and maybe even motivate me to do my actual writing jobs in a timely manner. Second, all of my favourite blogs are personal ones like these. I love long-winded Buzzfeed stories and used to have a bookmarks bar full of blogs, but when it comes to my own writing I get self-conscious. I remember when I used to blog only for attention, and that made an association I can’t break easily. Obviously, I’m trying, since I have made a blog and you are reading this post, and this will hopefully be a good experience for me.

Now, I don’t have a Julie & Julia commitment level to my blogging, but it’s comforting to know that I can write whatever I want, whenever – especially when I can count on, as of now, having 0 fans to appeal to!

So I will tinker around with the notion of blogging, try to throw out some posts every so often, and hopefully expand my horizons. Maybe my next post will be a little more interesting, too!

Leave a Reply

