It Isn’t Too Late: NaPoWriMo

For those too lazy, anxious, or busy to participate in National Novel Writing Month, Maureen Thorson has created an amazing alternative for the bards of the world – and I strongly recommend you give it a try!

writing

NaNoWriMo is famous internationally for encouraging creativity and productivity in writers. Despite finding this phenomenon amazing, I never managed to finish it, maybe because of the scope of the project and the stress I was putting on myself because of it. Thankfully, for the past few years, a new poetry-focused phenomenon has blossomed: NaPoWriMo – National Poetry Writing Month. While April has already started, it’s not too late for daily poetry practice!

NaPoWriMo was created in 2003 by a woman named Maureen Thorson, who had a personal ambition to write a poem each day in April. After other joined in, a few years down the road, this month of poetry became the official event it is today.

At the NaPoWriMo website, we learn how simple this challenge is compared to NaNoWriMo. Write a single poem every day, no length requirements whatsoever, only an optional prompt every morning. You can even submit your site to the organizers for a chance to have your poetry featured on the home page!

Despite being 11 days late, and having mysteriously lost my ability to write poetry a couple of years ago, I’m going to challenge myself to follow through the rest of this event – and I encourage you to do so too! Even if what you create sucks, it will be much better than having done nothing creative at all!

Because I am lazy, I decided to depart from the suggested prompt of the day, which asked readers to compose a poem in Sapphic stanza, and I wrote a freestyle poem that definitely reminds me of my eighth grade days.

magazine

Her best friends are the Ikea catalogue
And Nylon magazine

Bedspreads wrinkle and the American Apparel dress she buys
Doesn’t fit on her like it did on the model
And she waits for next month’s issue

Leave a Reply

